Science Experiments for Young Kids

We got bored staying at home over the weekends so I did some science experiments with the kids to create some excitement.

It all started when Nic saw 1 of the Hi 5 episodes showing how to make a volcano with some kitchen ingredients. She was all excited and wanted to replicate the activity. So here’s the ingredients

20140304-184957.jpg
1. Bicarbonate of soda or baking soda
2. Vinegar. You may like to get a cheaper one. I didn’t stock up any so had to use my expensive vinegar 😦
3. Some food colouring
4. Some shallow container to contain the vinegar so you don’t have to pour too much to get overflowing ‘lava’
5. Volcano. I did my in less than a minute with some sand piled up. Didn’t have time to make one with cardboard etc.

20140304-185550.jpg
All ready to begin.

Stuff the container into the sand ‘volcano’ . Pour the soda inside the pour the coloured vinegar and watch the bubbling lava flow!

20140304-185818.jpg
And the kids went wowing for a couple of minutes until they emptied my vinegar, my bicarbonate of soda and my food colouring.

After the first experiment I went on the net to search for other science experiments to do with the kids. I couldn’t find a suitable one. Either the concept was too hard for them at this stage or the experiment didn’t look interesting enough. On the next weekend, I suddenly had an idea so I did this experiment with the kids – Making sinking things float.

20140304-191155.jpg
First, we constructed our ‘boats’ with our Lego duplo. Nic did her own and I made one extra large one with Nat.

Then find a tub or basin and fill it with water. Dump our boats in and see if it sinks or float. The one I made with Nat floated and the one Nic made sank. So I found 2 empty bottles and tied them to Nic’s boat. And it became unsinkable! Then I tried to explain to them about floating and sinking.

Nic then tried to dump another Lego brick with wheels into the tub. It sank again. So I told her we can make it float by tying a something light to it like a balloon. So I made a plastic bag balloon and tied to her Lego. And the Lego became unsinkable too!

20140304-191904.jpg
They had a fun time splashing the water and watering the plants with the water afterwards.

Leave a Reply

