And here comes baby!

The exciting day came, finally! After all that months of anticipation and waiting. Those worries, those anxiousness was going to end today!

After today, we can finally start to replan some stuff, like the sleeping arrangements, our future holiday plans.. Oh and work arrangements need to be re-visited too. With 3 kids in toll, more time is needed to spread across them all. I would still like to continue working if possible because I cannot imagine myself getting stucked with kids the whole day everyday!

My girls have all come on the dot so far, exactly on the estimated due date. We were kind of expecting this one be the same although people kept telling me that boys tend to come earlier. 

So we were just waiting at home the whole day for baby to indicate his arrival. We didn’t dare to go out in case the emergency occurred outside.

2 bored kids

I wanted get some rest this day and really do nothing just to treasure the last bits of time without a crying baby at home. Hence the girls were parked at the iPads for almost the whole day unless they decide to play something else. #guiltymum
But after a whole day and night of waiting, there weren’t even the slightest sign. So we headed to the hospital that night for induction as planned.

Gynae asked if I would prefer to wait for baby to come until post due date or I would prefer to  induce. We decided on the latter because I had a feeling this baby was going to be big. Anymore delays might cause some difficulty for a natural delivery. Just the thought of having to go through a c-section for the last baby scares me a lot. And hubby agrees too.

So here’s how it went. We checked in to hospital around midnight (because that’s when they start charging for room) and the nurses strapped me on the CTG machine to monitor baby’s heartbeat and contraction.

Not long after I started lying in the uncomfortable position, suddenly there were signs of contractions!


And it was getting regular! Baby decided to show up on the EDD at the last hour! Gynae decided to wait a while to see if I could go into labour without induction.

After few hours of waiting (zzz…) the contractions started to go away. Strangely. And so I was still going to be induced. And so induction started and there was more waiting (zzzz…..). I was even allowed to eat something while waiting and before Gynae came back to break the water bag.

Around 4 hours later, I started to get some painful contractions. I then decided to start on the epidural because I get into too much pain. The very nice anaesthetist had been waiting for me since few hours ago as we all thought I might go into labour soon without induction. 

Strapped up and bed bounded


(After more waiting….) So finally Gynae came and burst the water bag and gosh, the feeling of flood came back ago. The experienced Gynae explained that she had to hold on to the breakage to let water flow out slowly initially to prevent the umbillical cord from being flushed out and strangle baby. Imagine all the discomfort then! And there I was on the bed, feeling helpless and totally uncomfortable. 

After the breaking of water bag comes the waiting of cervix dilation. And the real labour started when I had dilation of around 3 cm. Gynae estimated the time that I needed to get to 10cm and came in just in time when I started feeling the pressure of baby’s head coming through. With every contraction I could feel baby trying to come out.

Time for the push! I didn’t count how many attempts I did, but I know I would run out of stamina soon if I took any longer. It was really a major workout and I was sweating buckets and hubby was wiping off my sweat non stop. 1 of the very experienced midwife came in to help with the pushing. It was the same who helped me with my #2 baby and she was really good! After less than 10 attempts (I think) I did it! 

It was a huge effort as it turns out to be a big baby after weighing on the scales

Here’s the cutie who had been making me lose sleep and walk like a grandma for the past month, but awww… It’s alright baby, you are just too cute. 


And the start of a new journey begins. I have no idea what’s in store yet but I hope I will survive. šŸ˜¬

Leave a Reply

